Image: Blue Origin

It’s been over a year and a half since Blue Origin’s New Shepard rocket failed mid-flight, and more than two since its last crewed flight. Now, the company is go to launch six human beings into space. The company’s launch window begins at 6:30AM PT / 9:30AM ET, but will start streaming 40 minutes ahead of time on its website.

Blue Origin also normally streams its launches live on its YouTube channel, so it’s a pretty safe bet it will do so for its NS-25 mission tomorrow. Assuming the launch goes as planned, it will carry six passengers aboard, including the 90-year-old Ed Dwight, who was America’s first Black astronaut candidate but has never been to space. The other passengers are Mason Angel, Sylvain Chiron, Kenneth L. Hess, Carol Schaller, and Gopi Thotakura.

We’re “Go” to proceed to launch tomorrow, Sunday, May 19. The #NS25 launch window opens at 8:30 a.m. CDT / 13:30 UTC from Launch Site One in West Texas. Live coverage begins on https://t.co/7Y4TherpLr at T-40 minutes. pic.twitter.com/xIl2sVo7mH

— Blue Origin (@blueorigin) May 18, 2024

Jeff Bezos’ company decided to put its private space tourism flights on hold after a September 2022 rocket booster issue, which was later identified as an engine nozzle failure, triggered its uncrewed capsule’s emergency escape system.

The Federal Aviation Administration closed its investigation of the mishap in September last year, requiring Blue Origin to carry out 21 corrective actions that included redesigning the engine and nozzle components to prevent future failures. In December, Blue Origin launched 33 science payloads from NASA and other institutions into space. The capsule and booster were successfully recovered afterwards.

Read More – The Verge – Spaces